RSS

The Last Post

07 Feb

Who would have thought when I wrote that post in January last year that Mum would deteriorate so quickly.

3 weeks after my post we had a phone call to say Mum had some sort of tummy bug but it seemed that other residents also had it so we thought it was probably quite minor.  Sadly this was not to be.  She went downhill so fast it was frightening.  She couldn’t keep anything down then she didn’t want to eat or drink.  She was put to bed and seemed to do nothing but sleep.

On the 5th day I had a phone call telling me Mum was having difficulty breathing and we were advised to go to the Home right away.  Unfortunately she died just before we arrived.  My brother and sister and I all went in to see her then sort of wished we hadn’t!  I knew I wouldn’t believe she had gone unless I’d seen it for myself.  However I expected her to look more peaceful than she actually did.

I’m glad that she didn’t linger on feeling really poorly and also that her last 6 or more months had been relatively comfortable.  I tell myself that she just decided she had had enough and was ready to go.  Obviously it was incredibly sad but tinged with relief for both Mum and the family.

I know I should have written this post a long time ago but it just seemed so final.  However having just past the 12 month anniversary of her death, I felt the time was right.

I think about Mum every day one way or another.  I watch something on TV that I know she would love, I visit places I used to take her or I catch a glimpse of her face when I look in the mirror!  Miss you Mum but you’re always in my heart.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 7, 2017 in Diary

 

One response to “The Last Post

  1. Joy Johnston

    February 8, 2017 at 2:08 am

    Thank you for the update. I’m sorry to hear about your loss, but totally understand about the feelings of sadness mixed with relief. I felt similar when my father who had dementia passed.

     

Leave a Reply

 
