RSS

Keep it Simple and Keep it Real

16 Apr

Mum is getting worse at following instructions.   “Brush your teeth, then put your shoes on”  can lead to total confusion, whereas “brush your teeth” can work!   I have realised that I have to unlearn the normal way of passing on information.  Most people can take on board several pieces of information one after the other and it seems natural to talk this way…….but not to people with dementia.  Keep it simple and straightforward and there’s an outside chance she’ll understand.

Blurring real life with TV life is also getting worse.  We had a long conversation during Emmerdale this evening about the fact that the people in the village couldn’t see us and were just acting in front of cameras.  She looked puzzled for a while and then said “But I just can’t see why anyone would want to do that.”  Good point!

We had several similar conversations during the next hour and in the end she said “I hear what you’re saying but I just can’t accept it.  How do you know you’re right?”  Another good point!  As my daughter has said to me many times, she thinks Gran may have insider information and actually be totally on the ball.  It’s the rest of us who are deluded.   Hmmmmm……….

 

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2012 in Diary

 

3 responses to “Keep it Simple and Keep it Real

  1. Alastair Macintosh

    April 17, 2012 at 12:02 am

    Absolutely priceless. I do however wonder if watching Emmerdale could trigger dementia. I laughed so much I am crying.

     
  2. saveeverystep

    April 25, 2012 at 10:43 am

    I only just found your Blog and it’s such a refreshing take on such a difficult subject. I have signed up for more. I wish you luck and much patience. I lost my Mum 6 years ago this week and she inspired a website which has brought me a connection with the Alzheimers community, who use it as a resource. I also Blog at http://saveeverystep.wordpress.com. More info there if you are interested.

     

Leave a comment